Quality Assurance

Qualmark is New Zealand tourism's trusted guide to quality travel experiences.

All Qualmark businesses are assessed under the Sustainable Tourism Business Criteria. Based on their performance they will receive a Bronze, Silver or Gold Sustainable Tourism Award.

Accommodation businesses also receive an official star rating that denotes the quality of their facilities on offer, ranging from 1 to 5 star.

Only businesses delivering a quality sustainable experience, who have safe principles and practices, and showcase true New Zealand hospitality earn New Zealand tourism's official mark of quality.

Bronze Sustainable Tourism Business Award

To achieve a Bronze Award a tourism business must meet all Qualmark’s minimum standards across 40 key components contained in the Sustainable Tourism criteria.  It identifies a business with a high level of professionalism, an awareness of the impact it has on the environment and a customer centric approach.

Silver Sustainable Tourism Business Award

A Silver Award is evidence of a sophisticated tourism business that consistently exceeds visitor expectations.  Proactive leadership and management ensure that a culture of high performance is evident throughout the entire business.  The business will have a real focus on continuously improving their economic, social and environmental performance to ensure the tourism product they deliver is a genuine, constantly improving sustainable experience.

Gold Sustainable Tourism Business Award

A Gold Award recognises the best sustainable tourism businesses in New Zealand, with the delivery of exceptional customer experiences an integral part of everything they do.  A Gold Sustainable Tourism Award identifies those businesses leading the way in making the New Zealand tourism industry a world class sustainable visitor destination.

Star rating

  • 1 Star: Facilities and service meets customers minimum requirements
  • 2 Stars: Exceeds customers minimum requirements
  • 3 Stars: Good to very good facilities and services
  • 4 Stars: Consistently high quality levels of facilities and service
  • 5 Stars: Facilities and services amongst the best on offer in New Zealand